Welcome to the Friends of the Texas Room

Sandra LordOur Mission: The Friends of the Texas Room (FTxR) seeks to support the collections of the Texas and Local History Department, the Archives and Manuscripts Department, and the Special Collections Department of the Houston Metropolitan Research Center (HMRC) of the Houston Public Library.

The HMRC, the primary resource for the history of Houston, is housed in the Julia Ideson Building of the downtown Houston Public Library across from City Hall. The beautiful Spanish-Renaissance style building holds one of the largest collections of Texas history in the state.

Visit the Julia Ideson Building (Chapter 1 from the FTxR DVD In Search of Houston's History).

The FTxR qualifies under Section 501 (c) (3) IRS revenue service code.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the FTxR Officers and Board of Directors have decided to conduct our quarterly Monday meetings virtually at 7:00 pm using a Zoom platform. The remaining Monday evening meetings are April 26, July 26, and October 25. Members may join the meetings by clicking on a link provided by FTxR and posted on this Welcome page of our website and in our quarterly newsletter The Dispatch.

Our Next Meeting: The October 25, 2021, virtual meeting (7:00 – 8:30 pm) will feature Sandra Lord. The title of her presentation is "An Evening with Sandra Lord, Author of The Ghosts of Market Square." FTxR members, as well as the public, may join the meeting by using the following URL: http://bit.ly/FTXR-Lord10-25.

2021 Board of Directors:
President - Mister McKinney
Vice President - Susan Teich
Secretary - Charles Maynard
Treasurer - Frank Jones
Jim Bailey
Nancy Burch
Anthony Cavender (Julia Ideson Award)
J.J. Gonzalez
Carol Haddock (Membership)
Cathy McCulley