About the Award
The Julia Ideson Award recognizes research projects that contribute to the documentation of local and Texas history and culture. These projects must be completed using the archival resources of the Houston Public Library’s Texas Room/Houston Metropolitan Research Center (HMRC). The award honors the memory of the Houston Public Library’s first director, Julia Bedford Ideson (1885-1945). It is presented by the Friends of the Texas Room at their annual meeting in October. 

The 2018 award categories are film or video presentations, films, websites, articles, master's thesis, and doctoral dissertations.

The 2019 award category will be for published books.

Eligibility for Consideration
The entry must:

  • be a scholarly research project,
  • be completed within the past five years (2013-2018),
  • document local Houston and/or Texas history and culture; and
  • significantly, but not exclusively, use the resources of the Houston Metropolitan Research Center.

Entries must be submitted in the name of the person(s) or organization responsible for executing the project. Submitting an entry constitutes agreement to these terms and also serves as agreement that the Friends of the Texas Room may publicize the award and accompanying details about the recipients. Any physical entries become the property of the Houston Metropolitan Research Center. See complete instructions below.

Entry deadline has been extended to June 15, 2018.

Send entries to:
Friends of the Texas Room
P.O. Box 27827
Houston, TX 77227-7827

For additional information:
Anthony B. Cavender

The winner will be determined by a panel of qualified historians and/or community leaders, independent of officers and members of the Board of Directors of the Friends of the Texas Room. Each entry will be judged on the contribution to the community historical and cultural record, its quality, and the degree to which it demonstrates the effective use of the resources of the Texas Room/HMRC.

Instructions for Submitting an Entry
History of Julia Ideson Award Winners and Judges